Reflection on Final Drafts

I added sound to each of the buttons along the way but I cant seem to get a file working with sound.

Luas

This is still the one I’m most proud of…maybe because it caused me the least stress! There are a few things that I think makes it work. First of all the movement is basic, it’s a button, not a film so I think it’s important that it’s not used as a platform to show my skill and end up as a massive file as a consequence. If this was a live project, that would be a real concern that I would have to take into account. Secondly it’s the design – DeStijl is what it is and is fantastically structured. It lends itself perfectly to this application.

Dublin Bus

Im not sure I can like this one, it drove me mad! However, I do think it’s a far better button than any of the rest of the versions are. I don’t think I would have strayed from the idea of given more time, I would have maybe pushed it further. What makes it fall down for me is the typography. Although they all link together by starting off as black type, Dublin Bus is a bit weak at the start. This is the first impression a user would get so I feel it should be stronger. I think it makes up for it on the rollover when it explodes into the fantastic pop art burst.

Dart

This is the surprise success for me. Out of the three of them I had the least amount of time left and the most amount of panic. It’s so far away from that awful first draft that I cant help but be delighted it came so far. It’s the colour and the build up to what is iconic that works for me. I’m not entirely happy – and I’m not sure how happy the Luas marketing department would be – about the paint covering the name of the company. I think I would look at that a bit more given more time. Or maybe they wouldn’t care and it’s just perfect?!

Leave a Reply

