My chat with Owen was very helpful. He pointed out that largely what makes the Luas one work so well is that it is recognisable as an art movement. People may not know what the movement is but they could identify something about it. It also works with colour and shape as an icon.

The Dublin Bus one wasnt obvious enough. Maybe I had taken the self indulgent arty thing too far. I needed to step back a bit and take myself out of the design. I love arty-farty stuff but not everyone does. And you certainly don’t need to love it to visit museums and I think this design, even if I had pushed it further, may have alienated those people rather than encouraging them to seek out the art it represents.

I don’t want to talk about the Dart one.

Leave a Reply

